THE MYRTLE HALFORD TROPHY



Karana Downs Garden Club Inc. was officially formed in 1989 though it started unofficially the previous year. Our Display / Competition Table began with two sections in 1990/1991.

Myrtle Halford was a foundation member of our Garden Club (she had great gardening skills) and helped establish a format - some of which is still used today.

Myrtle died in January 1992 after a battle with lymphoma. The Display / Competition Table was by this time proving encouraging and popular. Helen Hepburn suggested that a perpetual trophy be established in Myrtle's memory. This was to be awarded to the overall winner who had accumulated the greatest number of points throughout the year.

Several of our members were keen and efficient needleworkers, including Myrtle, so it seemed appropriate that the trophy reflect this. Helen suggested a cross-stitch tapestry. Myrtle's daughter, Carole Scheinpflug worked the Graham Ross orchid design. The inaugural winner of this trophy was appropriately Helen Hepburn.

Winners of the Myrtle Halford Trophy:

1993Peter Boddington2016Erin Falvey1994Lorna Baker2017Veronica Lawson1995Helen Jackson2018Erin Falvey1996Shirley Falvey2019Kath Stumer1997Barbara O'Connor2020Not awarded due to Covid-191998Daph Astill and Susan Stewart1999Daph Astill2000Julie Minisini2001Myrtle Neumann2001Myrtle Neumann2002Julie Minisini2003Julie Minisini2004Annette Jones2005Carol Scheinpflug2006Annette Jones2007Joh Matulich2008Kerry Faber2009Judith Frost2010Judith Frost2010Judith Frost2011Hazel Newman2012Kath Stumer2013Hazel Newman2014Maryian Jack4019	1992	Helen Hepburn	2015	Erin Falvey
1995 Helen Jackson 2018 Erin Falvey 1996 Shirley Falvey 2019 Kath Stumer 1997 Barbara O'Connor 2020 Not awarded due to Covid-19 1998 Daph Astill and Susan Stewart 1999 Daph Astill 2000 Julie Minisini 2001 Myrtle Neumann 2002 Judy Camplin 2003 Julie Minisini 2004 Annette Jones 2005 Carol Scheinpflug 2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	1993		2016	Erin Falvey
1996 Shirley Falvey 2019 Kath Stumer 1997 Barbara O'Connor 2020 Not awarded due to Covid-19 1998 Daph Astill and Susan Stewart 1999 Daph Astill 2000 Julie Minisini 2001 Myrtle Neumann 2002 Judy Camplin 2003 Julie Minisini 2004 Annette Jones 2005 Carol Scheinpflug 2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	1994	Lorna Baker	2017	Veronica Lawson
1997 Barbara O'Connor 2020 Not awarded due to Covid-19 1998 Daph Astill and Susan Stewart 1999 Daph Astill 2000 Julie Minisini 2001 Myrtle Neumann 2002 Judy Camplin 2003 Julie Minisini 2004 Annette Jones 2005 Carol Scheinpflug 2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	1995	Helen Jackson	2018	Erin Falvey
1998 Daph Astill and Susan Stewart 1999 Daph Astill 2000 Julie Minisini 2001 Myrtle Neumann 2002 Judy Camplin 2003 Julie Minisini 2004 Annette Jones 2005 Carol Scheinpflug 2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	1996	Shirley Falvey	2019	Kath Stumer
1999 Daph Astill 2000 Julie Minisini 2001 Myrtle Neumann 2002 Judy Camplin 2003 Julie Minisini 2004 Annette Jones 2005 Carol Scheinpflug 2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	1997	Barbara O'Connor	2020	Not awarded due to Covid-19
2000 Julie Minisini 2001 Myrtle Neumann 2002 Judy Camplin 2003 Julie Minisini 2004 Annette Jones 2005 Carol Scheinpflug 2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	1998	Daph Astill and Susan Stewart		
2001 Myrtle Neumann 2002 Judy Camplin 2003 Julie Minisini 2004 Annette Jones 2005 Carol Scheinpflug 2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	1999	Daph Astill		
Judy Camplin Julie Minisini Coulon Annette Jones Carol Scheinpflug Coulon Annette Jones Joh Matulich Coulon Joh Matulich Judith Frost Judith Frost Judith Frost Coulon Judith Stumer Lour Kath Stumer Lour Judy Camplin Lour Standard Scheinpflug Lour Sch	2000	Julie Minisini		
Julie Minisini 2004 Annette Jones 2005 Carol Scheinpflug 2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	2001	Myrtle Neumann		
2004 Annette Jones 2005 Carol Scheinpflug 2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	2002	Judy Camplin		
2005 Carol Scheinpflug 2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	2003			
2006 Annette Jones 2007 Joh Matulich 2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	2004	Annette Jones		
2007Joh Matulich2008Kerry Faber2009Judith Frost2010Judith Frost2011Hazel Newman2012Kath Stumer2013Hazel Newman	2005	Carol Scheinpflug		
2008 Kerry Faber 2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	2006	Annette Jones		
2009 Judith Frost 2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	2007	Joh Matulich		
2010 Judith Frost 2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	2008	Kerry Faber		
2011 Hazel Newman 2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	2009	Judith Frost		
2012 Kath Stumer 2013 Hazel Newman	2010			
2013 Hazel Newman	2011	Hazel Newman		
	2012			
2014 Maryian Jack	2013	Hazel Newman		
	2014	Maryian Jack		